Get Happy

We are a society that likes to talk. We talk until our throats hurt, and often we’re talking just to hear ourselves. We talk in circles. Many times, we’re chatting and not even really saying anything.

We talk about things we do. We talk about things we plan to do. We talk about things we hope to do.

We talk about goals, dreams, passions, desires.

We talk about dislikes, disagreements, frustrations, annoyances.

But what if we stopped talking so much and actually started taking action? What if we stop verbally dreaming and actually chase after those dreams? What if we stop planning goals and instead go out and achieve them? What if instead of complaining about something that bothers us, we try to do something to change it or make it better?

What if we all just shut our mouths and started taking action?

I hear people talk about their goals and dreams all the time. But how many are actually pursuing them?

Our culture tells us we can do anything, and we can, but how many of us are actually trying?

I listen to people complain about things that bother them or express their continued unhappiness, but they never do anything to make things better.

I used to be this way. I talked a lot, but when it came to doing, the actions never caught up with the words. I had dreams I wanted to pursue, passions I wanted to engage in, and goals I wanted to reach. But fear, laziness and my depression held me back.

For years.

And I got tired of talking.

The past 6 months I have been working on shutting up and taking action. I’ve done my best to stop complaining and instead try to change the things I don’t like. And I’ve started with myself.

For more than a decade I have expressed my dream of writing professionally. But I was spending very little time writing and no time making connections to get published.

Last Fall I signed up for an online writing program. I started this blog. I began talking to other writers. I researched writing contests. And I’ve bought books that talk about breaking into the writing market and how to sell unsolicited work.

I am finally taking action to make my dream come true.

Eight months ago, I was unhappy, feeling insecure, lacked confidence and had no idea where I was going or what I wanted.

I felt sorry for myself, and I allowed myself to wallow in self pity.

Guess where that got me? NOWHERE!!!

Again, I decided it was time to take action. I went to counselling, surrounded myself with good people, changed my attitude and built up my confidence.

I was bored and unhappy in my job. So I started job hunting, spending hours searching for and applying to positions until the right opportunity came along. I’ve been in that job for over three months and feel as though it was designed for me. It’s not without challenges or stress, but I like it, I’m good at it and it keeps me challenged.

As I’ve said in previous posts, I feel like I missed out on a lot in my twenties due to my fears and my illness. There were so many times I didn’t say what I feel or didn’t stand up for what I thought was right.

I let people treat me poorly. I let others take advantage of me and put me down. I let my low self-confidence and fear of being judged keep me from taking action.

Now, at 31, having spent the last year on a journey of self discovery and self acceptance, I refuse to live like that anymore.

I am done missing out on things. I am done keeping how I feel or think to myself.

Life is short. People say that all the time. They say they don’t want to waste it, but I see so much wasted. I see so many opportunities and experiences pass people by because they are scared or lazy or lack self-confidence.

And it breaks my heart.

Because I used to do that too.

But now I would rather speak my mind and stand up for what I believe than miss the chance to make a difference. Not everyone is going to agree with me and that’s ok. I’m going to speak up anyway. Because I never know who I could help unless I try.

If I feel something towards someone, whether in a romantic sense, a platonic love or a professional appreciation, I am going to tell them. Because no matter what the response, it is never a bad thing to express kindness toward or to compliment another person. Even if my admiration is rejected, I can’t regret trying to make someone else feel good.

So, I ask: how much are you talking vs doing?

We all talk about the desire to be happy, but how many of us are doing something to create our own happiness?

I encourage you to stop talking and start taking action.

Let go of your fear. Let go of judgement. Let go of insecurity.

Life is short. Get up and take action to make it better for yourself and others.

Go and get happy.

Leave a comment